Blogs

Posted by Elisabeth Leamy, Tue Apr 10 2012, 01:56AM

Tax day is a week away and I hope you've already filed, because if you haven't, it's quite possible con artists have filed FOR you, using your social security number to claim refunds for themselves

Posted by Elisabeth Leamy, Sat Mar 17 2012, 01:55AM

I have some con artists to thank for today's column

Posted by Elisabeth Leamy, Sat Feb 25 2012, 01:52AM

People love to hate the IRS

Posted by Elisabeth Leamy, Tue Feb 14 2012, 01:22AM

Have you received one of those automated calls from "Rachel" or "Card Services" or a similar company, stating they have important news about your credit card interest rate

Posted by Elisabeth Leamy, Tue Feb 07 2012, 01:54AM

The Federal Trade Commission has just cracked down on a debt collector called Asset Acceptance, LLC, for misrepresenting itself when trying to collect old debts

Posted by Elisabeth Leamy, Wed Feb 01 2012, 01:19AM

I read dozens of articles a week on consumer issues, my version of "continuing ed." There's always one that sticks out as most intriguingt, and this past week "the one" was a New York Times story by Stephanie Clifford about how J.C

Posted by Elisabeth Leamy, Tue Jan 24 2012, 01:18AM

Once again, you, the readers, have done my work for me

Posted by Elisabeth Leamy, Tue Jan 17 2012, 01:17AM

This week, I'm answering questions from readers, because there's an unclaimed money question that keeps coming up again and again

Posted by Elisabeth Leamy, Tue Jan 10 2012, 01:16AM

Here's a big heads up about a chance to save big bucks

Posted by Elisabeth Leamy, Tue Dec 20 2011, 12:36AM

I've done it